Vegan and Vegetarian Is Different

People who do not eat meat are often all called vegetarian . But actually there are many types of vegetarians in the world. Not all vegetarians only eat vegetables, there are also those who eat meat or animal derived products. President of the International Vegetarian Union (IVU), Susianto at the 2018 Vegan Culinary Festival press conference held at Sapta Pesona Building, Jakarta, Tuesday (03/03/2018) explained the distribution of vegetarianism according to the type of food consumed. The division of the vegetarian group is also expected to be beneficial for tourism actors who are targeting vegetarian tourists.

  1. Semi Vegetarian This group does not eat meat at certain times. For example, in one week two days do not eat meat, the remaining five days eat meat. For those who are in the transition stage of being vegetarian, they can also be classified as semi-vegetarians.
  2. Vegetarian Pesco Not all vegetarians avoid eating meat. For example, the pesco vegetarian group. Note that this group only eats certain fish and seafood dishes. Whereas poultry meat and red meat are not eaten by vegetarian pesco groups. This group, also known as pescetarianism, sometimes still eats eggs and milk. But vegetarian pesco is often not recognized by other vegetarian groups.
  3. Lacto-ovo Vegetarian This group does not eat poultry, red meat and seafood. However, lacto ovo vegetarians still consume animal derivative products, such as milk and eggs.
  4. Vegan The vegan group does not eat meat and animal products at all. They get nutritional sources from vegetables, fruits, nuts, tubers and mushrooms.
  5. Vegetarian Groups because of Trust There are a number of beliefs such as Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, and Jaina which teach their people not to eat meat. In addition, each belief also prohibits eating certain plants, such as onions or tubers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *